County Council

Honorable Tommy Dunn


History of County Council

Anderson County and its county seat, Anderson, were named for Revolutionary War General Robert Anderson (1741-1812). Pendleton District was split between Pickens District and Anderson District in December of 1826. The city of Anderson was originally called Anderson Court House until the districts became counties in 1868. It is located along what was once the General’s Road (now Main St.) which ran from Abbeville Court House to General Pickens’ home (Hopewell) near present day Clemson University. Anderson County contains many smaller towns that each have their own unique flavor. More in-depth history about these towns and the county can be found at the Anderson County Museum and the South Carolina Room at the Anderson County Library.  Anderson County contains 718 square miles in the Piedmont area.  It is bordered on the west by the Savannah River and Lake Hartwell, on the North by Pickens and Oconee Counties, on the east by the Saluda River, and on the south by Abbeville County.

Anderson County consists of seven districts in a Council-Administrator form of government under the South Carolina Home Rule Act of 1976. Council members are elected in the general election for terms of two years commencing on the First of January following their election.  The Council employs an Administrator who is the administrative head of the county government and is responsible for the administration of all departments of the county government which the council has authority to control.

County Mission Statement

Anderson County is honored and privileged to serve its residents, workers, and visitors with the highest quality public safety, infrastructure, clean environment, economic development, and recreational services possible. The Anderson County Council understands its citizens demand and deserve a prosperous community in which to work and enjoy the fruits of their labor. To this end, County officials and staff are committed to ensuring resources and opportunities are available for its people to meet their career and life objectives.

Clerk to Council

Ms. Lacey Croegaert 

Biography: Ms. Croegaert, a native of Illinois, has served as Clerk to Council since January 2018. She and her husband Shane are the proud parents of three children.

Education: Associate of Applied Science, Business Administration, Forrest College

Contact: (864) 260-1036 or Email 

County Council

District One: Hon. Craig Wooten

Hon. Craig Wooten
District One

Biography:  Lifelong resident of Anderson County.  Graduated Pendleton High School. Married to wife Abby with four children.

Education:  Received his BS from Clemson University in Management and Accounting with emphasis in International Studies.

Profession:  Principal Consulting with The International C, LLC. Firm focused on International and Governmental Business Development.

Community Involvement: Member of Concord Baptist Church. Anderson Red Cross Advisory Board Member, Ambassador ANMED Health, Anderson YMCA Major Gifts Committee, Former Board Member Anderson Crisis Pregnancy Center, South Carolina District Export Council.

Current Standing Committees/Boards: 

Chairman of Finance Committee

Board member of Economic Development, Public Safety, Recycling & Solid Waste, Planning and Public Works, Civic Center Ad-hoc Committee, TTi, Recodification Ad-hoc Committee, and Courthouse Square Committee and Terminal ADHOC Board Member

Board Member of Development Corporation of Anderson County.

Contact:  (864) 276-8867  or  Email

District Two: Hon. Gracie Floyd
District Three: Hon. S. Ray Graham
District Four: Hon. Brett Sanders, Vice Chairman
District Five: Hon. Tommy Dunn, Chairman
District Six: Hon. Jimmy Davis
District Seven: Hon. M. Cindy Wilson

2020 Agendas & Minutes

County Organizational Chart


Past Agendas & Minutes

This page was last modified in October 2020.